Science Committee

Antibiotic Research UK’s research programmes are overseen by the Science Committee consisting of:

  • Professor Colin Garner
    Professor Colin Garner

    PhD DSc FRCPath (Chief Executive)

    About Professor Colin Garner

  • Professor Chris G Dowson
    Professor Chris G Dowson

    BSc PhD

    About Professor Chris G Dowson

  • Dr. Lloyd Czaplewski
    Dr. Lloyd Czaplewski

    Chief Scientific Officer, Persica Pharmaceuticals

    Lloyd has over 23-years of R&D experience in biological and chemical entities across multiple therapeutic areas at technical, managerial and corporate levels. For the last 15-years Lloyd has focused on antibacterial R&D, especially DNA supercoiling and bacterial cell wall biosynthesis. Career highlights include a demonstrated ability to create and lead structure-informed screening, hit & lead optimization programmes leading to compounds with class leading in vivo efficacy.

    Lloyd is a prolific inventor with a strong patent (26) and publication (34) record. He has created, managed and buillt Venture Capital funded businesses. Lloyd has a strong record of fund raising (£>23m) from UK, Europe, USA and Japan including charities (Wellcome Trust), Government (DTI, UK & NIAID, USA), Corporate (Astellas), VC investment groups and business angels. He is currently Chief Scientific Officer of Persica Pharmaceuticals.

  • Dr. David Roper
    Dr. David Roper

    Reader in Microbiology, Warwick University

    David Roper is a former MRC career Development fellow at the University of York and now reader in Structural Biology at the University Warwick. The Roper group uses structural biology techniques, principally X-ray structural determination, in combination with molecular biology and biochemical approaches, to investigate the molecular basis of microbial physiology in relation to antibiotic resistance and bacterial cell wall (peptidoglycan) biosynthesis in Gram-positive and Gram-negative pathogens. In addition his research group also uses a synthetic and translational biology approaches to obtain and reengineer pathway intermediates as chemical probes, substrates and inhibitors. This approach not only allows novel insight to the biology underpinning these pathways but also enables biotechnological exploration and exploitation.

  • Dr Tim Tasker
    Dr Tim Tasker

    Chief Medical Officer, Heptares Pharmaceuticals

    Tim is a medical graduate from the University of Oxford and has had global roles within large Pharma & Biotech including SmithKlineBeecham, Evotec and most recently Heptares. He is and R&D specialist with Cross Therapeutic area experience across all phases of drug development and has conducted clinical studies in US/UK/Europe/Australia. He has experience of drug regulators in the UK, Europe, the USA and Australia to gain programme approval for clinical studies across all zones. He has led global teams to deliver in both big pharma internal.

  • Dr David Wareham
    Dr David Wareham

    Clinical Senior Lecturer / Honorary Consultant in Microbiology, Centre for Immunology and Infectious Disease, Blizard Institute, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

    David Wareham qualified (MBBS) from the London Hospital Medical College in 1994 and trained in general medicine before specialist training in Medical Microbiology (FRCPath). He was awarded a Clinical Training Fellowship to study aspects of Pseudomonas aeruginosa pathogenicity at Queen Mary University in 2002 and appointed as Senior Clinical Lecturer in Microbiology in July 2005 (PhD). He is an Honorary Consultant Microbiologist at Barts Health NHS Trust responsible for aspects of intensive care microbiology. He heads the Antimicrobial Research Group which is involved in characterizing the mechanisms underlying the development and persistence of antimicrobial resistance as well as the consequences this may have on the organism and its capacity to cause human disease. This combines genomics, molecular biology, in-vitro and in-vivo (invertebrates) studies, epidemiological and clinical data in an attempt to dissect the complex relationship between host, pathogen and resistance. Research is driven by problems encountered in daily clinical practice and in recent years has focused on multi-drug resistant Gram-negative bacteria such as Acinetobacter baumannii, Stenotrophomonas maltophilia and carbapenem resistant Enterobacteria. Areas of particular interest include the identification of novel resistance determinants, evaluation of novel antimicrobial treatments, pharmacodynamic and pharmacokinetic analysis of new and repurposed combination therapies, virulence studies of emerging pathogens and interventions to prevent the spread of resistant organisms in the hospital environment.

  • Professor Neil Woodford
    Professor Neil Woodford

    Head, AMRHAI (Public Health England), Visiting Professor, Department of Medicine, Imperial College

    Prof Neil Woodford  is the Public Health England (PHE) Lead for the Applied Molecular Bacteriology theme of the National Institute for Health Research Health Protection Research Unit in Healthcare Associated Infection and Antimicrobial Resistance.  Professor Woodford directs the research in theme with Professor Shiranee Sriskandan, the Imperial College Lead.

    The HPRU, which was established on 01 April 2014, is a partnership between Imperial College London, Public Health England, Cambridge University Veterinary School, the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute and Imperial College Health Partners North West London Academic Health Science Network. The Unit was funded along with 12 others, in priority areas from immunisation to radiation hazards, to bring Universities to work in partnership with Public Health England to support excellent health protection research relevant to the needs of Public Health England.

    Professor Woodford is also the Head of the Antimicrobial Resistance and Healthcare Associated Infections (AMRHAI) Reference Unit at Public Health England.  He is an international expert in molecular detection of the genetic determinants of key resistances through AMRHAI.

    He has worked on antibiotic resistance for over 25 years, and has co-authored more than 250 publications, edited three books on the subject and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists on the basis of his published works. He served for 10 years as an Editor of the Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy, and is on the Editorial Board of  Microbial Drug Resistance.